Skip to content

{ Tag Archives } abstract

For a Minor Reflection – A Moll

Since space and time are the same, how would it feel spending space with somebody? And zooming in time? I’ll give you the answer next space…

For a Minor Reflection is a post-rock band from Reykjavík, Iceland, comprised of Kjartan Holm, Guðfinnur Sveinsson, Elvar Jón Guðmundsson, Andri Freyr Þorgeirsson.

A Moll is a song on their second album, entitled “Reistu þig við, sólin er komin á loft…” (which means “Rise and shine, the sun’s up”) and released in 2010.

The music video has been directed by Lorenzo Fonda (Cerberoleso), produced by Lanette Phillips and Catherine Berclaz at Mighty8.

Also tagged , , , ,

Vimeo Festival + Awards: Unlime

A creative process. An idea. Floating constantly and resolutely. Skilled — it has made its way through this complex surrounding. Seeking for the one and only goal where they all come together.

One of the many promotional videos for the Vimeo Festival SLASH Vimeo Awards. This one was the work of Patric Schade AKA Unlime. Sound design: Florian Salewski and Stefan Zinsbacher.

Also tagged ,

HASSAN REZAKHANI – Water and Color

Water and Color is a short movie by Iranian CGI devotee Hassan Rezakhani.

Also tagged

Nokta .

Nokta (Dot) is an abstract film project which is an improvisation of organic pieces while considering themes like power, chance and luck. A short movie by Onur Senturk with sound design by Gavin Little at EchoLab.

Also tagged , , ,

Vital – Airport

Vital is indie singer and songwriter Duranta D. Cook. Airport is song from his first release for Black Sky Records, entitled Vital EP, currently available for free on his website.

The music video has been directed by Takafumi Tsuchiya AKA TakCom.

Also tagged

MATO ATOM – Lost Below

Lost Below is a short animation by Mato Atom from some years ago, whose fascination resides partly in its undetermination: even though the matter of the film it’s not apparent, one seems to grasp it in an almost unconscious way.

The music is Lost Below by Clinton Francis AKA ISol. The album, All the Pretty Things, has been released under a Creative Commons license.

Also tagged , ,

Akira Kosemura – It’s On Everything

It’s On Everything is a song from the 2007 album of the same name by Akira Kosemura. The video is included in the CD/DVD Grassland, released on February 2010.

The music video has been directed by Mario Cavalli and produced at Colony. He previously did the videos for Light and Xiao ge er for the same artist.

Also tagged

DIEGO AKEL – Lines and Spirals

An experimental animation created “with the technique of motion painting, in which successive changes are made in a single image, creating an animated painting.”

A short film by Diego Akel.

Also tagged , ,


I know it might be disappointing to some, after reading the title, but the good thing about this kind of orgy is that you don’t have to watch your back (if you care for that sort of things, that is…)

The sexy and sleek short video is the work of Andrea Grosso Ciponte. The music is Orgy by Ravi Shankar from the soundtrack for Chappaqua.

Also tagged , ,

Noisia – Machine Gun

“An abstract telling of mankind and it’s self destructiveness, loosely based on the tale of Frankenstein’s monster, which is exactly what a machine gun is.”

“Noisia is a Dutch drum ‘n bass producers trio, that are not that well known despite the fact they have done remixes for Moby, Robbie Williams and The Prodigy.”

Machine Gun is the first single off their upcoming debut album, which will be entitled Split the Atom and is due to release on March 2010.

The music video has been directed by Henk Loorbach AKA Superelectric.

Also tagged , , , , , , , ,

The Fitzcarraldo Sessions ft. Moriarty – Alice and Lewis

The Fitzcarraldo Sessions is a side project of Jack the Ripper’s members, that is: Aka De Kebnekaïze, Adrien Rodrigue, Alex Irissou, Dom Martin, Fabio Fenaux, Hervé Mazurel, Thierry Mazurel.

Alice & Lewis (Soon Will Come Too Soon), featuring Moriarty, is a single taken from their debut album We Hear Voices.

The music video has been directed by Duckeye (Jey Malaiperuman and Kate Freeland); produced by Caroline Ray at Rokkit.

Also tagged , , , , ,

Samurai Jazz Quintet – Pico

Not a great fan of generative arts (works generated through computer software algorithms or other autonomous processes), but this piece is an exception. The video, at least, whose structured abstractness manages to make sense of to the music too.

The Samurai Jazz Quintet (SJQ) is an experimental band from Japan. Members are: Yuta Uozumi, Tadashi Yonago, Isao NKGT, Shuhei Otani, Wataru Asada. And the sixth element being Gismo, an “Autonomous Music Software with Artificial Life”.

Pico is a track featured on their latest album, entitled Animacy and released in 2009 for Cubic Music.

The music video is the work of Takafumi Tsuchiya at Takcom™, made, if you’re curious, using mainly Cinema 4D.

Also tagged , ,


Some abstract claymation from Kirsten Lepore. Makes me want to try myself at it too. One day, maybe.

Also tagged , ,


In vellum motion is form and form is motion…

Looking for the face of humanity in the way man has shaped Nature, in his own image, the image of Man.
Robert Seidel, designer and maker of both the video and audio, synthesized the architectural Zeitgeist of Jena (Germany) his home town, and brought it to Seoul (Korea), [...]

Also tagged

Bourbon Shopping: Mandalas

No need to shop around.

A mandala made up of plastic bottles? Why not! And what about sushi? It will open you to a whole lot of brand new perspectives. On shopping.
The spot has been directed by Luiz Evandro and produced at Sentimental Filme, São Paulo.
“It’s made to be exhibited only at the cinemas inside the [...]

Also tagged , , , , , ,